Higher Learning Commission Accreditation
HLC/NCA Accreditation
Home Page
Accreditation Timeline
Study Goals
Steering Committee
Criterion Committees
Surveys & Feedback
Contact Us
SharePoint© for Members
2007 Site Visit    
2006-2007 HLC/NCA Accreditation UAMS Self-Study    
1996-1997 NCA Accreditation Self-Study of UAMS

Steering Committee


The role of the NCA Steering Committee is to establish the goals of the study and provide an operational framework in which the committees, working group members and staff can work effectively. The Steering Committee provides guidance and leadership to assure that both the self-study and the site visit meet the expectations of the accrediting agency and the standards of excellence at UAMS.

Specific responsibilities of the Steering Committee include:

  • Provide guidance on setting up operating structure
  • Identify any changes or revisions that will require Commission approval
  • Approve the overall study design, including a project timeline
  • Provide guidance on setting institutional planning priorities
  • Assure congruity between institutional goals and self-study goals
  • Review progress on self-study and other aspects of the process on a regular basis
  • Intervene, when necessary, to remove barriers on behalf of committees
  • Review new or revised policies and procedures recommended by committees
  • Review self-study drafts and final self-study report
  • Participate in the site team visit


Larry D. Milne, Ph.D.
Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Research Administration


Charles O. Cranford, DDS, M.P.A., Vice-Chancellor, UAMS Regional Programs

Debra H. Fiser, M.D., Dean, College of Medicine

Claudia Barone,
Ed.D., R.N., L.N.C., C.P.C, Dean, College of Nursing

Stephanie Gardner, Pharm.D., Ed.D., Dean, College of Pharmacy

James M. Raczynski, Ph.D., Dean, Fay W. Boozman College of Public Health

Robert E. "Bobby" McGehee, Jr., Ph.D., Dean, Graduate School

Ronald H. Winters, Ph.D., Dean, College of Health Related Professions

Laura K. Smith-Olinde, Ph.D., Immediate Past President, Academic Senate

Natalie DeHart, President, House of Delegates

Philip Anthony Jansen, President, Associated Student Government



For further information or to make comments about this page,

please contact:  NCA@uams.edu

This site last modified 09/07/2007