About Us
UAMS Programs
UAMS Contacts
UAMS Partners
Funding Opportunities
Health Disparities
Reports and Other Materials
Search Our Site

Education & Training Core (ETC)

Partner Institutions

Click on an institution's name to view its information

Arkansas Baptist College

Arkansas Baptist College was chartered in 1884 with the primary objective of raising "the educational level of the Negro ministry." Arkansas Baptist College is accredited by the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools to award the Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Sciences degrees. The College offers two year associate degree programs, and four-year liberal arts education with degrees in criminal justice, business administration, human services and theology. The College has approximately 345 students and over 23 faculty members. For the past three years, most students have graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree in a social sciences major. Dr. Fitz Hill was named president of the college in January 2006 and is reaching out to other universities and agencies in Arkansas to improve programs, obtain stronger support, and increase student enrollment, and he has already achieved marked success in this regard.


Philander Smith College

Established in 1877 to educate former slaves, Philander Smith College is Arkansas's oldest private HBCU. This four year liberal arts college is affiliated with the United Methodist Church and the United Negro College Fund (UNCF). The college conferred its first bachelor's degree in 1888. Philander is accredited by the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, Association for Collegiate and Business Schools and Programs, National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education, and the Council on Social Work Education, and is approved by The Arkansas State Department of Education, the University Senate of the United Methodist Church, and the UNCF. Philander has over 700 students and over 90 faculty members. For the past six years, the Business & Economics Division has had the most students enrolled, and the Social Sciences Department has the next greatest number. Dr. Walter M. Kimbrough is the 12th president of Philander and is one of the youngest college/university presidents in the U.S.


University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff (UAPB)

UAPB, located in the Arkansas Delta and the only public HBCU in Arkansas, was created in 1873 by Legislative Act. The Act stipulated that the Institution was established for the convenience and well being of the "poorer classes." UAPB's original enrollment was seven students and has grown to over 3200 students and 164 faculty members. Ninety-four percent of the students are African-American. The largest majors at UAPB include social and behavioral sciences, nursing, biology, and chemistry/physics. As the campus infrastructure develops, the university strives to continue to make improvements in recruitment and retention of students in the areas of science, technology, engineering and mathematics. The present Chancellor, Dr. Lawrence A. Davis, Jr., was appointed in 1991.


UAMS Fay W. Boozman College of Public Health

Since opening in 2001, the COPH’s student body has grown to over 220 students. The COPH has also expanded its degree offerings for students who are interested in public health science and public health practice careers to include a Post-Baccalaureate Certificate of Public Health, a Master of Public Health (MPH; specialties in biostatistics, environmental/occupational health, epidemiology, health behavior/health education, and health policy/management; and a generalist degree option), multiple combined degree programs with educational partners (i.e., combined MD/MPH, JD/MPH, and PharmD/MPH degrees), a Master of Health Services Administration (MHSA), a Master of Science in Occupational and Environmental Health, a Doctor of Public Health (DrPH) in Public Health Leadership, and a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Health Systems Research (tracks available in health economics and health outcomes research). A PhD in Health Promotion and Prevention Research (tracks available in behavioral science and community science) is scheduled to open in Fall 2007. The MPH degree program enrolls the largest proportion of students (about 60%); the MPH also fulfills prerequisite requirements for the DrPH and PhD degrees. The COPH is accredited by the Council on Education for Public Health. The Dean of the COPH, Dr. James M. Raczynski, serves as Principal Investigator of the ARCHD.


UAMS Arkansas Center for Health Disparities
4301 W. Markham #Slot 820, Little Rock, AR 72205, 501-526-6707

All contents © 2000 -

UAMS Online     Copyright Statement     Privacy Statement