About Us
UAMS Contacts
Funding Opportunities
Health Disparities
Reports and Other Materials
Search Our Site

Arkansas Center for Health Disparities (ARCHD)


The overall theme for the Arkansas Center for Health Disparities (ARCHD) is to develop research to improve access to quality prevention and health care programs for racial and ethnic minorities with a goal of reducing health disparities. The Center focuses on chronic disease disparities with an initial emphasis on cardiovascular disease (CVD), diabetes, obesity, and cancer. Arkansas consistently ranks among the worst in the nation in health indicators, particularly for CVD and cancer morbidity and mortality. Already large disparities continue to increase. Arkansas has the fastest growing Latino population in the country and the largest Marshallese community outside of the Marshall Islands, in addition to a substantial African-American population. To address health disparities, strong collaborations have been forged among the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) College of Public Health (COPH), the Arkansas Department of Health and Human Services' Division of Health (DOH), and the Arkansas Minority Health Commission; and relationships are developing with the state's historically black colleges and universities (HBCUs). The Center will provide an infrastructure to strengthen these efforts and to develop and implement research to reduce disparities in the state's minority populations. We encourage you to learn more about our Core Areas and how they may be of assistance by clicking on the information to your left.

ARCHD Director
James M. Raczynski, PhD, FAHA, FSBM, Principal Investigator
Deputy Director for Research
Carol E. Cornell, PhD
Deputy Director for Community Affairs
Elaine Prewitt, DrPH
Director of Informatics
Alan Vanbiervliet, PhD
Center Administrator
Ted Brasfield

Steering Committee
The Steering Committee will be chaired by the Center PI/Director (Dr. Raczynski) and will include both Deputy Directors (Drs. Cornell and Prewitt) and Core Directors (Drs. Cornell and Katharine Stewart), Dr. VanBiervliet, the PIs and Co-PIs of the full research project and the PIs of the pilot projects. Mr. Brasfield will serve as an ex-officio member of the committee.

Local Advisory Board (LAC)
Patricia Jackson
Director, WE CARE of Pulaski County

Lorraine D. Smith
Mayor, Wrightsville, AR

Reginald Rogers
Chairman, SE Pulaski County Hometown Health Coalition

Rick Collins
Co-Executive Director, Future Builders

Peter Noonan
Vice President, Mission Integration/St. Vincent Health System

Sandra Brown, MPH, MSN, RN
Director, Community Health Strategic Development/Baptist Hospital Health System

Linder Conley
Co-Executive Director, Future Builders

Austin Porter, Jr., JD

Woodrow Kewon

UAMS Arkansas Center for Health Disparities
4301 W. Markham #Slot 820, Little Rock, AR 72205, 501-526-6707

All contents © 2000 -

UAMS Online     Copyright Statement     Privacy Statement