UAMS ADMINISTRATIVE GUIDE
The State of Arkansas and the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS), in conformance with the Arkansas Code Annotated 21-4-201 and OPM policy 105.3 and the University of Arkansas Board of Trustees Policy Statement 420.1 and 420.2. have established uniform procedures under which sick leave may be granted and taken. The purpose of this policy is to inform all departments within UAMS of these procedures so that uniformity can be established throughout the campus.
(1) All regular, probationary, provisional, and part-time University employees who work 20 hours or more per week shall accrue sick leave. Paid sick leave shall not be granted as vacation leave, and can only be used when the employee is unable to work because of sickness or injury, or for medical, dental or optical treatment. Sick leave may not be borrowed from future credits or advanced beyond actual accrual, regardless of length of service.
(2) Sick leave may be granted to employees due to the death or serious illness of a member of the employee’s immediate family. The term “immediate family” shall mean the father, mother, sister, brother, spouse, child, grandparent, grandchild, mother-in-law, father-in-law, or any other person acting as a parent or guardian of an employee. The department head may grant sick leave for death or family illness in an amount which is reasonable for the circumstances.1
(3) All eligible, full-time employees shall accrue sick leave at the rate of eight hours for each complete month of service, up to a maximum of 960 hours or 120 days. Eligible employees working less than full time but 20 hours per week or more shall accrue sick leave in the same proportion to time worked as shown on SAP Infotype 0007. Sick leave may not be accumulated during a leave without pay when such leave totals ten or more days within a calendar month. Accrued amounts of sick may be seen in SAP on infotype 2006 and by running transaction PT50.
(4) Sick leave shall be granted on a basis of workdays rather than calendar days. Used sick leave shall be deducted from the employee’s accrued sick leave in increments of not less than 15 minutes (.25 hours). Days off such as weekends and holidays falling within a period of sick leave will not be charged as sick leave Timekeepers may post sick hours to Accutime (Kronos) as
· SICK, for normal sickness or bereavement time
· SICKF, if hours will be counted toward allotment for Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA)
Use of sick leave can be seen in Kronos and in SAP on infotype 2013 (monthly), infotype 2010 (biweekly), and by running transaction PT50.
(5) Employees absent due to illness or disability, except for reasons of maternity leave, shall be charged for leave according to the following order:
(9) Employees transferring to another State agency or institution may transfer accrued sick leave. Employees laid off due to budgetary reasons or curtailment of University activities may have all accrued sick leave restored to their credit if they return to University employment within six months. Leave may also be donated to the Catastrophic Sick Leave Bank.3
(10) Non-classified employees who leave state employment are not entitled to be paid for accrued sick leave. Classified employees who either retire or die while employed shall be paid for unused accumulated sick leave as follows: